Making it Easier to Get and Hold Onto East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits

East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits

There’s a common phrase we use when we want to let someone know there are a lot of opportunities available: the sea is full of plenty of fish. Well, that expression also applies literally. And if we are talking about the Atlantic sea, even more. This article will then explain everything you need to know about the East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits, from telling you who is in charge of each jurisdiction up to some common permits you will be wondering where to get. Read on if you want to find out!

Regions for the East Coast Area

If you want to settle your commercial fishing business on the Atlantic coast there are a few facts you should take into consideration. The first one of them is to know what is the governmental department that takes care of the issuing of the East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits. This agency is called the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) fisheries. With this in mind, they divide the United States into five different regions: the Pacific Islands, Alaska, the Atlantic, and the West and South Coast.

The East Coast is part of two different regions: New England/the Mid Atlantic and the Southeast. The permits issued in each of those areas will be valid from 3 nautical miles from the shore up to 200 nautical miles. Each region has different permits, but keep in mind that vessels used for commercial purposes with a net weight over 5 tons need to be registered with the United States Coast Guard (USCG).

New England/The Mid Atlantic Commercial Fishing Permits

The Mid-Atlantic Region includes the states of Maryland, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, along with the parts of New Jersey, New York, and North Carolina that drain into the Delaware and Chesapeake Bays. New England, which is also part of the region, comprises Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

In this area, you can find permits that allow you to catch Atlantic bluefish, deep-sea red crabs, mackerels or squids, spiny dogfishes, monkfish, rock ship, black sea bass, scups, Atlantic herrings, and, one of the most required ones, the Atlantic Tuna Longline Commercial Fishing Permit (Limited Access), among others.

Southeast Commercial Fishing Permits

The US Geological Survey considers the Southeast region of the United States to be compounded by Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, and Tennessee.

At the Commercial Fishing Permits Center (CFPC) we subdivided the region into three categories: Caribbean – South Atlantic – Gulf of Mexico, to make it easier for your search over the sector. Some of the permits you can find on them are king mackerel, spiny lobster, smoothhound shark, gulf royal red shrimp, swordfish hand gear, and South Atlantic golden crab, among others.

East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits

Southeast Commercial Fishing Permits

As we told you earlier, all of these permits can be found on the NOAA website, where you can find the East Coast Commercial Fishing Permits you need. Once you have found them, you can download them, print them out and send them to the correspondent’s office.

Another option is to do it through the CFPC, where you will not only have someone overlooking your documentation in order no mistakes are submitted, but also the possibility of completing them from the comfort of your house while your details are kept secure on our SSL-encrypted website. Contact us today and get your business started (or continued)!

No Comments

Be the first to start a conversation

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Scroll to Top